We have AUDIO

Often, when a member reads a piece, the rest of us comment on the oral presentation and how well the author shared it. Now, because we have the technology (and sort of know how to use it) we are going to share some audio with you.

First up is Dale Stevens with Spirit Highway:

Click the “start arrow” below to hear the audio of this poem:

There’s the cloud,
yeah the black one.
I take it in and then I wait,
I wait.
Now I light two
candles
and I know who they are for.
One is for me
and one is for them.
Past lives cannot let go
so still I travel back in my dreams,
on my spirit highway.
I can see myself long ago.
Loved ones there, lost ones there,
they visit my sleep, I miss them.
They spread their wings.
They meet me.
They meet me in my dreams,
greet me from dimensional seams.
When our worlds are one,
there is a crossing.

Here’s Dale with Get Ready:

Click the “start arrow” below to hear the audio of this poem:


Buy your ticket, be first in line,
Ready, ready, ready,
Get ready for the ride of your life.
Step right up, yeah step right up,
Be the first in line, sit in the first car,
Wave your arms and get ready,
Ready, ready, ready,
Get ready for the ride of your life.

Cute little baby just moved away from home,
Could your eyes get any bigger?
Could you be any greener?
Learn to be the gleaner,
The old are your teachers,
The young your peers,
Cute little baby is stepping out ,
Out of the comfort zone,
Into the big bad world.

So you better be ready,
Ready, ready, ready,
Ready for the time of your life,
Step right up, yeah step right up,
You need to be ready,
Ready, ready, ready,
Get ready for the ride of your life.

And to round off the first attempt at audio, here’s Jock’s I AMA LUCKY GUY:

Click the “start arrow” below to hear the audio of this poem:

I AMA LUCKY GUY

My friends all call me Lucky

But unlucky’s what they mean

Cuz whenever there’s a mishap

I’m the first one on the scene

If the car runs out of gasoline

Or if there is a flat

Or the ditch is too inviting

You can bet that’s where I’m at

When some dufus leaves his lights on

Or locks his keys inside the car

You can bet your bottom dollar

I’m the likely superstar

Who’s the reason for the error

I’m the one who dropped the ball

But it never really bugs me

Cuz I only have to call

1-800 and some numbers

They’re all written on the card

And the tow truck soon is heading

To the street or boulevard

Where I’m waiting for assistance

With my handy plastic card.

It’s my CAA and AMA

Premium Plus for on the road

Ticket for Alberta drivers

Should you have an episode

Of forgettin’ or neglectin’

To be roadwise and aware

It’s the card that always helps ya

Anytime or anywhere!






This entry was posted in Canadian Authors, Red Deer Writers' Ink, Self-publishing, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

