” I learn something at every meeting.”

At last night’s meeting, one of our members noted, “I learn something at every meeting.” She went on to explain how a comment from the previous meeting’s critique of her writing had been particularly helpful. She expanded this remark to explain how useful and edifying the meetings were as aids in her writing.

As the meeting progressed and as I pondered the comment afterwards, I surprised myself as I came to realize the truth of her statement. I hadn’t really thought about the gems I was offered each Tuesday evening. At the May 31st meeting alone, I came away with: a recommendation for a book by Bill Bryson (Troublesome Words), a great anecdote and the reminder of the interest piqued by sharing a pertinent incident in one’s life, encouragement to seek a magazine to publish one of my short stories, a clearer perspective of ‘different strokes for different folks’ as a gruesome and graphic piece was discussed, the power of conviction as one shares a tale . . . and the power of a group of caring writers to encourage and empower.

This entry was posted in Red Deer Writers' Ink, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

