Member Reading – Bill Birse: Where Do Ideas Come From

At the Tuesday, November 22 meeting, Bill shared “Where Do The Ideas Come From.” The text follows as does an audio clip. Click on the red arrow to listen in.

Where ideas come from.

I was lying in bed Remembrance Day morning.  It was dark.  I was feeling a slight twinge telling me that maybe I should get up and go to the bathroom.  But, it was very warm in my bed.  Quite cozy…  Then an idea started pricking my brain—wouldn’t go away.  So, I got up, and by the time I had finished my toilet, I had conceived this poem.

TEN LONG YEARS

“Hey, you!”

                                                               “What?”

“You can go home now.”

                                                               “Why?”

“The war is over.”

                                                              “Who won?”

 “No one.  Everybody lost.”

                                                                                                     Bill Birse

                                                                           Remembrance Day 2011

/%20

This entry was posted in Canadian Authors, Member Reading, Red Deer Writers' Ink, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

